Thanks to everybody who helped with MNCDHH's voting projects for 2012!

Published 11-09-2012

Minnesota once again was number 1 in voter turnout in the United States!

We know that this included a lot of deaf, deafblind, and hard of hearing people and their friends, family, and supporters in Minnesota.

We want to thank everybody who helped with MNCDHH’s voting projects for 2012!

Special thanks go to the following:

The Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State for the funding that they provided for our voting projects in 2012. We especially thank Secretary of State Mark Ritchie and Voter Outreach Director Claire Wilson for supporting and participating in our accessible “Introduction to Voting” video series. This was a very special voter education project for all of us!

Claire Wilson from the Office of the Secretary of State and Pamela Hoopes from the Minnesota Disability Law Center for working with us to provide live “Introduction to Voting” workshops to the community, especially to school programs. We also thank the school staff and students at CSD Adult Basic Education, Humboldt High School, Metro Deaf School, Minnesota State Academy for the Deaf, and VECTOR North Transition for being great audiences!

The Minnesota Association of Deaf Citizens, the Minnesota DeafBlind Association, and the Hearing Loss Association of America Twin Cities and St. Cloud chapters for supporting voter education in the community, including the live “Introduction to Voting” workshops.

Sherri Rademacher for working with us to promote the captioning of campaign ads.

Diane Lentsch and Kimberly Williams from DeafBlind Services Minnesota for working with us to provide a live “Introduction to Voting” workshop to deafblind community members, and also to provide rides to the polls for deafblind voters.

The wonderful volunteer actors who made the “Introduction to Voting” video series so successful! They include Claire Alexander, David Andrews, Rick Cardenas, John Lee Clark, Martha Davies, Emory Dively, Margaret Endres, Galinda K. Goss-Kuehn, Nadine Grippa, Larry Lubbers, Dawn Moder, Mai Vue, John Wodele, and Peter Zenner.

The people who made our accessible videos about the Constitutional Amendments possible, including Bill Hanley and David Wermus of TPT Public Television who provided video and caption material from the “Marriage Amendment: I Do, I Don’t” Almanac show and who worked diligently with us to add ASL narration, and State Representative Mary Kiffmeyer and State Representative Steve Simon who provided the Voter ID position statements for us to translate into ASL and captions.

The contractors who made possible the production of all our videos in incredibly short time frames, including Peter Zenner, Margaret Endres, Patty Gordon and Kurt Rotter from ZenMation, Trudy Suggs from T.S. Writing, and Doug Bowen-Bailey from Digiterp Communications.

The sign language interpreters and real-time captioning providers who made everything accessible as needed.

All the deaf, deafblind, and hard of hearing voters who went out and voted and made your voices & hands heard! Some of you also participated in the political and election processes, including Sonny Wasilowski who ran for City Council in Faribault and Emory Dively who served as an Election Judge in St. Paul.

We hope to see many of you vote and participate again in the future!

If we have forgotten anybody, please accept our sincere apologies!